California, like 33 other states, currently has a ban on texting and talking on hand held cellphones. That ban doesn’t seem to be getting the message across effectively, so the state is considering adding a little more heat.
A proposed law would increase fines and fees for violators and aims to add points to their drivering record. That would increase their insurance premiums. Sort like the gift that keeps on giving. The new law would look like this when you write out a check for the fines.
- First violation would cost $50
- Second or more violations would cost $100
- Bicyclists would be now be covered and subject to fines.
- One point to driving record for each violation.
California is one of the most expensive states for auto insurance, which is something you should take into account when budgeting for your California auto loan. Even with a perfect record, premiums are double what they are in some other areas. Imagine what it would be like to start adding points or show a pattern of distracted driving. Say good-bye to those vacation plans.